Skip to content

Complacency

October 15, 2012

According to the Webster dictionary, the word complacency means self-satisfaction especially when accompanied by unawareness of actual dangers or deficiencies.

My additional interpretation to the word is the lack of passion to continue to fight or move forward.

This word does not apply to me. I always try to find a better solution to the existing processes. “Your best is just not good enough” is my motto. As a photographer, I always come up with new ideas to process the pictures I touched up before. There are always rooms for improvement.

I heard so many saying that “I’ve tried my best” when they lost a game or a competition. Really?? This statement is so abusively used nowadays. It becomes an excuse to not try hard enough. Or, to some, their best are really not good enough. Its time for them to think about change – don’t drag.

The same principle applies to running a business. Many well established companies went out of business because of complacency. The leaders of those companies drowned in the glory days and forgot about their competitors (think USPS). Past statistics are like drugs. They numb the leaders’ brains. If I were one of them, I would ignore those empty numbers like “we are the greatest in….” or “we are in the Top 5…” Ranking is just a measurement when someone compares you with your competitors. Don’t forget, the biggest competitor is yourself.

I always laugh at those people making comments like “now, you’re famous.” Its a sign for me to look for the next breakthrough.

It is just as simple as that: “If you are not moving forward, you are falling behind. ”

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

